Lake Butler Rotary Welcomes New UC Teachers

By Ted Barber

At the beginning of each school year the Lake Butler Rotary Club honors the new Union County teachers and administrators. This year the Lake Butler Elementary School had nine new teachers, the UC Middle School had five and the UCHS had six for a total of 20 that were honored. Club President Brad Whitehead opened the meeting and thanked Rotarians Jenny Reed, Garrett Milton, Shane Collins and all the other Rotarians that set up the welcome luncheon area, the welcome packets and framed welcome certificates. Carlton Faulk opened the program and had the school principals introduce their new staff. As Union County Rotarians we are proud of our outstanding schools and look forward each year to welcoming the new school staff. We are blessed and thankful for all that they do for the children of Union County!

The new teachers welcomed include from Lake Butler Elementary School:
Latonya Connelly, Caroline Merwin, Stacie Cason, Kaitlin Tomlinson, Tawyna Personette, Denise Moore, Amy Brock, Justine Grogran and Kathleen Ball

From Lake Butler Middle School:
Michelle Green, Kaleb Switanek, Allison Hartley, Tracy Brinkley and Julie Nettles

From Union County High School:
Chris Southerland, Patrickk McDonald, Erik Gibson, Joseph O’Hearn, Cody Tempest and George Richard.

Garrett Milton asked this week’s “Do You Know” question involving J.K. Rolling, creater of the Harry Potter series. Chris Southerland was the first to give the author’s name.

Our upcoming Lake Butler Rotary Club program chairpersons include:
August 13th – Dave MeCusker
August 20th – Sara Owens
August 27th – Jennie Reed
September 3rd – Ted Barber